NIH MOSAIC Scholars Annual Meeting

October 14, 2021 - October 15, 2021
01:00 PM - 05:00 PM
Max.Capacity: 500 No Participants

Special Rules:

NIH MOSAIC Scholars Annual Meeting

October 14 - 15, 2021

1 - 5 PM

Location: NIH Videocast:

October 14 (Day 1):

October 15 (Day 2): 

October 14, 2021

 1 PM                  Welcome - Dr. Jon Lorsch, Director, NIGMS

                           Comments from Dr. Francis Collins, Director, NIH

1:15 PM              Overview of NIH MOSAIC Program - Dr. Kenneth Gibbs, Branch Chief, NIGMS 

1:30 PM              Scientific Session #1 - Chair, Dr. Eliseo Pérez-Stable, Director, NIMHD


Speaker Funding IC Project Title
Dr.  Ayobami Akenroye NIMHD Synthesizing Trial and Real-world Data on the Use of Biologics in Patients with Severe Asthma
Dr.  Evan White NIMHD Neuroscientific Exploration of Cultural Protective Factors in American Indians
Dr.  Mallory Perry NIGMS Pediatric Recovery After Sepsis Treatment in the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit
Dr.  Iris Smith NIGMS Unraveling the PTEN Interactome: Modeling Structural and Functional Dynamic Network Architecture for Therapeutic Modulation in Cancer and Autism
Dr.  Nicole Sparks NIEHS Analysis of environmentally-sensitive epigenetic machinery during osteogenic differentiation
Dr.  Benard Ogola NHLBI Interplay of Sex Hormones and Chromosomes in Vascular Oxidative Stress and Arterial Stiffening
Dr.  Lisandra Vila Ellis NHLBI Mechanism of pulmonary endothelial cell heterogeneity and its role in disease
Dr.  Razieh Khalifehzadeh NIBIB Flexible and Wireless Bioelectronics for Continuous Monitoring of Intracranial Pressure


2:30 PM              Break 

2:45 PM              Scientific Session #2 - Chair, Dr. Nora Volkow, Director, NIDA


Speaker Funding IC Project Title
Dr. Lillian Brady NIDA Sex differences in cholinergic regulation of nicotinic acetylcholine receptor modulation of local nucleus accumbens circuitry underlying motivation
Dr. Barbara Juarez NIDA Dopamine circuit regulation of morphine reinforcement across the opioid exposure cycle
Dr. Anel Jaramillo NIAAA Neuropeptide-dependent parabrachial control of the BNST during alcohol abstinence-induced negative affect
Dr. Caroline Palavicino-Maggio NIGMS Unraveling the neural basis of female aggression and dementia-related aggression: a systems biology approach.
Dr. Cassandra Hayne NIEHS Structural and Functional Characterization of Pontocerebellar Hypoplasia Associated Nucleases
Dr. Velencia Witherspoon NIGMS Quantitative Characterization of the Extra Cellular Matrix Components of Connective Tissue: Fingerprinting Macromolecular Components through Low-Field Magnetic Resonance
Dr. Theresa Loveless NIGMS Deep cell history tracking: engineering cells that write their detailed life stories into their DNA to study DNA damage
Dr. Leah Gates NIGMS Integration of metabolism and chromatin in regulating gene expression in vivo
Dr. Jenna Christensen NIGMS Evolution of Cargo Transport


3:45 PM              Extramural Opportunities for Early Career Scientists - Dr. Edgardo Falcón-Morales, Program Officer, NIGMS

  • NIGMS MIRA Program - Dr. Desirée Salazar, Program Officer, NIGMS
  • Loan Repayment Program, Stephen Katz ESI Research Project Grant - Dr. Ericka Boone, Acting Director, Division of Biomedical Research Workforce
  • High-Risk, High-Reward Research Program - Dr. Ravi Basavappa, Program Leader, NIH Common Fund
  • Strategies to Support Your Research - Dr. Michelle Jones-London, Office of Programs to Enhance Neuroscience Diversity, NINDS

4:45 PM              Closing Remarks

October 15, 2021

1 PM                   Welcome & Overview of NIH Efforts to Promote Diversity - Dr. Marie Bernard, Chief Officer of Scientific Workforce Diversity

1:30 PM              Scientific Session #3 - Chair, Dr. Richard Hodes, Director, NIA


Speaker Funding IC Project Title
Dr. Cristal Hill NIA Dietary Protein Restriction Remodels Adipose Tissue to Defend Against Age-Related Metabolic Decline
Dr. Andrew Kekupa'a Knutson NIGMS Epigenetic Regulation of the Hypoxic Response in the Mouse Heart
Dr. Yvon Woappi NIGMS Delineating epigenetic coordination of regenerative cell plasticity
Dr. Elias Picazo NIGMS Strategic Molecular Activations for the Selective Synthesis of 2-Deoxy-Beta-Glycosides, and for the Synthesis of Novel Donor-Acceptor Stenhouse Adducts
Dr. Marco Messina NIGMS An Activity-Based Biomolecule Labeling Platform for the Imaging of Cells and Tissues Under Oxidative Stress
Dr. Junior Gonzales NIGMS Development of multimodal agents from natural spider peptides for prostate cancer via sodium-channel NaV1.7
Dr. Charisse Winston NIA Ethnoracial Impact on Blood-Based Biomarker Detection of Alzheimers in Primary Care Patients
Dr. Elizabeth Brown NIA The neural basis for aging-dependent decline in taste function


2:30 PM              Break


2:45 PM              Scientific Session #4 - Chair, Dr. Debara Tucci, Director, NIDCD


Speaker Funding IC Project Title
Dr. Josefina Inés Del Marmol NIDCD Elucidating the structural determinants of odor specificity in insect olfactory receptors
Dr. Elizabeth Wasmuth NIGMS Biochemical, structural and molecular dissection of androgen receptor transcriptional activity
Dr. John Jimah NIGMS Structural basis of dynamin-mediated membrane fission, actin bundling and interaction with binding partners.
Dr. Yadira Soto-Feliciano NIGMS Understanding mechanisms of transcriptional regulation by chromatin adaptor proteins
Dr. Alfa Herrera NIAID Small host GTPases: Direct targets of Vibrio vulnificus MARTX toxin effectors
Dr. Chelsey Spriggs NIGMS Hijacking host cellular motors for the nuclear entry of polyomaviruses
Dr. Laura Newman NIGMS The role of mitochondrial/ER contacts in the regulation of mtDNA release from mitochondria, innate immune signaling, and responses to viral infection
Dr. Agnes Karasik NIGMS The role of host mRNA cleavage by RNase L in viral infections


 3:45 PM              Intramural Opportunities for Early Career Scientists - Dr. Carl Hashimoto, Director of Faculty Development, Office of Intramural Research.

  • Stadtman Tenure Track Investigator Program - Dr. Roland Owens, Director of Research Workforce Development, Office of Intramural Research
  • Opportunities for Clinician Scientists - Dr. Charles Dearolf, Director of Program Development and Support, Office of Intramural Research
  • Panel - Perspectives of NIH Distinguished Scholars 

    Dr. Hugo Tejeda, NIMH
    Dr. Nadine Samara, NIDCR 

    Dr. Faustine Williams, NIMHD

4:45 PM              Closing Remarks, Dr. Alison Gammie, Director, Division of Training, Workforce,  Development and Diversity, NIGMS